Fresh Cycling Start

NOTE: This was originally supposed to be published yesterday, Friday 31 May 2013.

Hi, all!

“Cycling Mimi” is the moniker I chose for this blog because I love cycling and am starting to get back into it.

When I was a child, my parents and brother and I used to go for bike rides. We used to go all over the place, and sometimes our bikes would go with us on camping trips.

For my 40th birthday (March 2010), I was given a bike – my first in years – and I would ride all over this area. It’s flat here in Agassiz and in the surrounding area, and it was easy to get back into cycling. There are one or two small hills, but I was so out of shape that I just couldn’t bike up them. I kept at it, though, and was eventually able to bike up the slope that led to an overpass taking people onto the Agassiz Bypass. That was a great day for me!

Cycling was a way for me to return to my childhood in a sense. There’s a certain sense of freedom I find in biking, but I stopped. I started working straight nights, and I only went on one bike ride since September 2011. Well, not counting today’s ride.

On that last ride, I was exhausted and felt so ill, and that was only a very short ride. It really bothered me, but I did nothing about it.

Now, though, I am determined to return to cycling on a regular basis. So I am doing something about it.

I went for a ride today. It was only 7 minutes and 1.8 km long, but it was a start. I shall ride again tomorrow.

On my phone, I have the Strava cycling app. There’s a running option on there as well, but I don’t run if I can help it. I might start in the future, but for now, I’ll focus on cycling and walking.

I used the cycling app today for the first time, and it seems good. It recorded the time, as well as speed and distance. It also recorded my route on a map.

I then recorded the time that I cycled, as well as average speed, on the My Fitness Pal app, in which I record food and drink and water and other exercise.

So here I am, and I shall keep you posted on how I do. Things can only get better from here! 🙂

BELOW:  This is Mount Cheam as seen from my gate. It’s one of my favourite mountains and can be seen from almost everywhere in my area. It’s quite photogenic from all side.Image

Leave a Reply

